News From Penrhiw Farm

It's good growing weather - all the arable crops are responding to the warm rain and there is plenty of grass.  Lots of lovely haylage already made on Cefn Coed / Fforest - still watching the grass grow at Penrhiw.  

One for the farm record book  -  Martha, one of Cefn Coed's best sows had 18 piglets.  How many she will manage to rear is questionable.  A few are small and there is a lot of Martha to lie down without squishing some.   

On the down side, the muggy weather provides ideal conditions for fly strike on the sheep.  Wet warm fleeces are a wonderful habitat for wriggly maggots.  We have to be very vigilant with a thorough check of the ewes daily until they are all shorn.  (Welsh ewes don't readily part with their fleeces until late June)

Celia   

Thursday, May 31, 2018

News

Title Post date
Mark here from USK VALE FOODS. Friday, November 16, 2018 - 14:02
Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 10:28
Andrea Steel Crucorny Environment Group News 13th November 2018 Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 19:29
Addtional Autumn range of products from Crucorny Environment Group (Andrea Steel) Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 15:09
Special Birthday Celebration Market Monday, October 29, 2018 - 15:08
New developments for Usk Farmers' Market Friday, October 19, 2018 - 14:31
October 20th market Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:27
Dispatches from Penrhiw Farm October 16th 2018 Tuesday, October 16, 2018 - 16:09
October dispatch -Penrhiw Farm Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 11:26
Retrospective exhibition of the works of Sue Bentley Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 18:50

Pages