News From Penrhiw Farm

Hello from a very snowbound Penrhiw

I can hardly believe I am writing this in March with snow drifts completely blocking the lanes and gateways, a serious water problem and the prospects of attending any markets very unlikely.  It's not just at Penrhiw, Graham is struggling at Cefn Coed too.  ( I am never going to mump about mud again !!)

The simple daily chores of feeding and watering all the livestock have become a MAJOR task.  It is tough on the the flock of Welsh ewes but they are amazingly resilient and resourceful -  they find "shelter" but not in the lee of the walls where they would become buried with drifting snow.  Emergency rations have gone out to them this afternoon.  

 

So we have not missed Usk market since we have been attending (1999). It took the combined efforts of Storm Emma and "the Beast from the East" to stop us !!   A huge amount of shovelling may get us out on Sunday to Riverside but I will not make rash promises.

Let's hope Spring is just round the corner !

Penrhiw

Friday, March 2, 2018

News

Title Post date
News fromPenrhiw Farm Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 12:10
News from Usk Vale Foods Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 10:41
News From Penrhiw Farm Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 10:34
Changes in the Data Protection Laws GDPR Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 14:51
May 16th 2018 - latest news form Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 19:05
News From Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 23:41
News Friday, April 6, 2018 - 00:19
Special offers for April 7th Market Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 12:35
Smarts Cheese News from the farm Friday, March 16, 2018 - 22:47
Usk Vale Foods: Specials for this market Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 10:49

Pages