May 2019 dispatch from Penrhiw Farm

 

Lambing is almost done - just a few stragglers left now but these still need watching.  It has been hard work with many assisted births which has really kept us busy.  Not sure why this year - possibly due to the "green" winter  when the ewes have done well with the lambs growing a bit too well in the womb ??  The hay we made last summer was excellent quality which possibly hasn't helped the well being.   Calving has almost slipped under the radar with minimal fuss - it just happened !!  
Most of the arable crops have been sown on Fforest with the fields slowly turning green again.   Peas and barley still to plant at Penrhiw and  there is even a field of silage ready to cut - so no rest ..........    Naughty ginger piglets are having great fun escaping from their pen and scampering about the yard -   they are going out the field very soon.
Busy market weekend  -  the usual Cardiff ones - Rhiwbina on Fri, Riverside on Sunday;  Usk and Tonteg on Sat  
Thursday, May 2, 2019

News

Title Post date
18th September Market News Friday, September 18, 2015 - 13:51
Usk stall application for the 4th quarter 2015 Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 16:52
August 30th Sunday, August 30, 2015 - 04:02
August 15th Market Thursday, August 13, 2015 - 15:46
July 4th market News Thursday, July 2, 2015 - 12:53
Details of the June 20th Market Thursday, June 18, 2015 - 20:45
Christine to swim the channel ! Friday, June 5, 2015 - 18:28
Farmers' Market Lunch at Museum Cafe Thursday, June 4, 2015 - 14:23
Details of the June 6th Market Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 19:02
The Fish Stall Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 18:57

Pages