Market News July 2018

Ans so, after the difficult Spring weather we have the current, dry hot conditions.  Already this is affecting the growth of grass and crops.  Paul Cooper has adopted a continental work pattern of being in the field at 6 am to about midday and then returning at 6 pm after siesta!!.  He says he is offering remedial water if the plant is looking to die.  The outcome is he will endeavour to bring to market what is available which will include some cut flowers.   I have always been in awe of how our farmers and growers manage to keep going with so many challenges.  Celia Thomas. has said they have lost about three-quarters of the laying flock to foxes this year.  On the plus side, the market will not be alone in facing the challenges.  Paul has said the difficulties are increasing by the day and there is little sign of rain, in the coming few weeks, for the whole country. It's time to gather ye rose buds!!

 

Friday, July 6, 2018

News

Title Post date
Christmas wrapped up at Usk Farmers' Market Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 11:30
String Quintet to play for Christmas Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 15:59
Penrhiw Farm November 15th Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 10:05
All about apples Sunday, October 1, 2017 - 23:29
Elm Tree Pies to close Friday, June 30, 2017 - 10:41
Money raised for charity Friday, February 3, 2017 - 13:29
Usk Farmers' Market is 18 years old Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 15:56
The Usk vegetable box scheme. Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 12:14
News for April 16th 2016 Friday, April 15, 2016 - 19:11
March 19th Friday, March 18, 2016 - 10:27

Pages