Latest from Penrhiw Farm

Hello from 2 very soggy farms - we have certainly had some rain over the past few days.  Penrhiw is just very wet but the heavy rain and strong winds have wreaked havoc with the arable crops on Fforest.  We grow a combination crop of peas and barley which is a good source of home grown protein for the pigs and chickens but it is HIGH risk.  2 weeks ago it looked like the most promising crop we had ever grown but was not ready for harvest  -  now it is flat on the ground and a disaster.  Combining will be a nightmare and, if any can be salvaged, drying costs will only add to the heartache.  Who says farmers always mump  ........

Even the markets are quiet in the rain -  come on put on your wellies and waterproofs and support us !!  We will be at Roath this weekend -  not our usual weekend there but covering for Lodor Meat as Benni is ill.    Rhiwbina, Usk and Riverside as usual.    

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

News

Title Post date
Mark here from USK VALE FOODS. Friday, November 16, 2018 - 14:02
Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 10:28
Andrea Steel Crucorny Environment Group News 13th November 2018 Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 19:29
Addtional Autumn range of products from Crucorny Environment Group (Andrea Steel) Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 15:09
Special Birthday Celebration Market Monday, October 29, 2018 - 15:08
New developments for Usk Farmers' Market Friday, October 19, 2018 - 14:31
October 20th market Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:27
Dispatches from Penrhiw Farm October 16th 2018 Tuesday, October 16, 2018 - 16:09
October dispatch -Penrhiw Farm Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 11:26
Retrospective exhibition of the works of Sue Bentley Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 18:50

Pages