Latest from Penrhiw Farm

Hello from 2 very soggy farms - we have certainly had some rain over the past few days.  Penrhiw is just very wet but the heavy rain and strong winds have wreaked havoc with the arable crops on Fforest.  We grow a combination crop of peas and barley which is a good source of home grown protein for the pigs and chickens but it is HIGH risk.  2 weeks ago it looked like the most promising crop we had ever grown but was not ready for harvest  -  now it is flat on the ground and a disaster.  Combining will be a nightmare and, if any can be salvaged, drying costs will only add to the heartache.  Who says farmers always mump  ........

Even the markets are quiet in the rain -  come on put on your wellies and waterproofs and support us !!  We will be at Roath this weekend -  not our usual weekend there but covering for Lodor Meat as Benni is ill.    Rhiwbina, Usk and Riverside as usual.    

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

News

Title Post date
December 5th Market News Friday, October 2, 2015 - 19:46
December 19th Market News Friday, October 2, 2015 - 19:49
October 3rd Market News Thursday, October 1, 2015 - 16:10
Latest News about this website Sunday, September 20, 2015 - 11:56
18th September Market News Friday, September 18, 2015 - 13:51
Usk stall application for the 4th quarter 2015 Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 16:52
August 30th Sunday, August 30, 2015 - 04:02
August 15th Market Thursday, August 13, 2015 - 15:46
July 4th market News Thursday, July 2, 2015 - 12:53
Details of the June 20th Market Thursday, June 18, 2015 - 20:45

Pages