July News from Penrhiw Farm

Hello from a still parched Penrhiw and Fforest.  We have finished the hay harvest and baled the peas and oats silage mix.   Whether there will be any second cut is doubtful - the barns are not full and the cows at Fforest have a hay bale out in the field to make sure they are not hungry.  Penrhiw cows have just been turned into the last field of grass - then they will have to look a bit harder for food.   Let's hope for a flush of grass in the autumn and good ground conditions to graze it.  This would save the winter feed stock.

 
It is a struggle to keep the pigs' wallow holes full of water - it takes several bowsers a day to top them up.      Some of the younger pigs have come indoors - it is simply too hot for them. 

  

Enough of the mumping - farmers are never happy !!

Markets this weekend - the usual Cardiff ones Rhiwbina on Friday, Riverside on Sunday; with Usk and St Fagans on Saturday.  Porthcawl next Sat - 28th.

More from Penrhiw Farm

 

 

 

  •  
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

News

Title Post date
News from Usk Vale Foods Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 10:41
Changes in the Data Protection Laws GDPR Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 14:51
May 16th 2018 - latest news form Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 19:05
News From Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 23:41
News Friday, April 6, 2018 - 00:19
Special offers for April 7th Market Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 12:35
Smarts Cheese News from the farm Friday, March 16, 2018 - 22:47
Usk Vale Foods: Specials for this market Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 10:49
Celia Thomas News from Penrhiw Farm Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 18:44
Exclusive Hand made chocolate from Beverly Reed Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 11:50

Pages