July News from Penrhiw Farm

Hello from a still parched Penrhiw and Fforest.  We have finished the hay harvest and baled the peas and oats silage mix.   Whether there will be any second cut is doubtful - the barns are not full and the cows at Fforest have a hay bale out in the field to make sure they are not hungry.  Penrhiw cows have just been turned into the last field of grass - then they will have to look a bit harder for food.   Let's hope for a flush of grass in the autumn and good ground conditions to graze it.  This would save the winter feed stock.

 
It is a struggle to keep the pigs' wallow holes full of water - it takes several bowsers a day to top them up.      Some of the younger pigs have come indoors - it is simply too hot for them. 

  

Enough of the mumping - farmers are never happy !!

Markets this weekend - the usual Cardiff ones Rhiwbina on Friday, Riverside on Sunday; with Usk and St Fagans on Saturday.  Porthcawl next Sat - 28th.

More from Penrhiw Farm

 

 

 

  •  
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

News

Title Post date
Penrhiw Farm Dispatch June 12th 2019 Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 21:18
Penrhiw Dispatch May 30th 2019 Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 23:36
Art and Music weekend Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 12:37
Usk vale Foods aka Mark the fish Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - 17:18
Penrhiw Farm latest-Lambing has almost finished!! Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 23:46
May bank Holiday Fresh Fish Friday, May 3, 2019 - 10:51
May 2019 dispatch from Penrhiw Farm Thursday, May 2, 2019 - 10:24
Penrhiw Dispatch April 18th 2019 Thursday, April 18, 2019 - 12:30
April 6th Fish Stall Friday, April 5, 2019 - 22:54
Penrhiw Dispatch March 15th 2019 Friday, March 15, 2019 - 11:29

Pages