January 15th 2020 Notes from Penrhiw Farm

The hint of some drier weather next week is very welcome news and I sincerely hope it actually happens.  The ground conditions are SO wet now.  Graham is struggling to get feed to the pigs on the quad bike and the hens' feet are so muddy we are struggling to keep the eggs clean.   It's hard on the early lambing ewes - the constant wet puts a lot of pressure on especially the ones carrying twin lambs.   They will come indoors next week - we need a few dry days to thoroughly dry the fleeces before they come in.  Wet soggy sheep in a shed are not good.

 

The usual markets - Usk and Roath on Saturday with Rhiwbina and Riverside on Sunday.  We have our usual range back now - Tamworth x Welsh pork this week.

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

News

Title Post date
18th September Market News Friday, September 18, 2015 - 13:51
Usk stall application for the 4th quarter 2015 Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 16:52
August 30th Sunday, August 30, 2015 - 04:02
August 15th Market Thursday, August 13, 2015 - 15:46
July 4th market News Thursday, July 2, 2015 - 12:53
Details of the June 20th Market Thursday, June 18, 2015 - 20:45
Christine to swim the channel ! Friday, June 5, 2015 - 18:28
Farmers' Market Lunch at Museum Cafe Thursday, June 4, 2015 - 14:23
Details of the June 6th Market Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 19:02
The Fish Stall Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 18:57

Pages