January 15th 2020 Notes from Penrhiw Farm

The hint of some drier weather next week is very welcome news and I sincerely hope it actually happens.  The ground conditions are SO wet now.  Graham is struggling to get feed to the pigs on the quad bike and the hens' feet are so muddy we are struggling to keep the eggs clean.   It's hard on the early lambing ewes - the constant wet puts a lot of pressure on especially the ones carrying twin lambs.   They will come indoors next week - we need a few dry days to thoroughly dry the fleeces before they come in.  Wet soggy sheep in a shed are not good.

 

The usual markets - Usk and Roath on Saturday with Rhiwbina and Riverside on Sunday.  We have our usual range back now - Tamworth x Welsh pork this week.

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

News

Title Post date
Penrhiw Farm November 15th Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 10:05
All about apples Sunday, October 1, 2017 - 23:29
Elm Tree Pies to close Friday, June 30, 2017 - 10:41
Money raised for charity Friday, February 3, 2017 - 13:29
Usk Farmers' Market is 18 years old Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 15:56
The Usk vegetable box scheme. Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 12:14
News for April 16th 2016 Friday, April 15, 2016 - 19:11
March 19th Friday, March 18, 2016 - 10:27
5th March 2016 Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 22:43
February 6th 2016 Market Friday, February 5, 2016 - 10:13

Pages